MEDRC Announces winners of the ‘Omani Young Water Researchers Award’ and the ‘Eco School Prize’ 2020

High Profile Awards Celebrating the achievements of Omani Students


MEDRC has announced the winners of the ‘Omani Young Water Researchers Award 2020’ and the ‘Eco School Prize’ at an official ceremony held under the auspices of H.E. Dr. Rahma Al Mahrooqi, Minister of Higher Education, Scientific Research and Innovation.

Established by MEDRC and sponsored by the Embassy of the Kingdom of the Netherlands in Oman, the Omar Zawawi Establishment L.L.C and Haya Water, the Omani Young Water Researchers Award aims to celebrate the world class water research being undertaken by young Omani students at undergraduate and postgraduate level at universities.

Speaking at the award ceremony, Eng. Suleiman Al Qasmi, Acting CEO of Haya Water said: “Providing a platform to encourage academic research, taking part in water research projects and supporting the Omani youth to come up with smart solutions to supply sufficient and high quality water has been among the primary concerns of Haya Water because we appreciate the value of research and understand its role in supporting the community.”

H.E. Laetitia van Asch, Ambassdor of the Kingdom of the Netherlands in Oman said: “Water is life, it’s an essential resource for our survival, but we must not forget that water is a finite resource. In the Netherlands we managed to turn our water challenges into opportunities. We make use of innovative solutions. Youth is important. We want to pass on skills and knowledge to the next generation.”

MEDRC Center Director, Ciarán Ó Cuinn commented saying: “The Omani Young Water Researchers Award is a celebration of the academic excellence of the new generation of Omani scientists who use their talents to improve life and society by creating more sustainable, affordable and plentiful access to water. They are a credit to Oman and we salute them. Through the Eco School Prize we are working together to ensure that scientific and sustainable spirit is passed to the next generation.”

Said Al Harthy, Head of CSR programs at Oman LNG added: “This unique occasion is a testimony of our youth’s strengths and capabilities in innovation and creativity.  With them, we ensure a sustainable and flourishing future for Oman and its people. They’re tomorrow’s builders and champions. I am pleased to congratulate our champions who are celebrated today.”


The full list of winners announced this year is as follows:


Postgraduate Category:


1st Place: Ms. Ibtihal Al-Manthri, Sultan Qaboos University for the research paper titled “Water- land- and energy-use efficiencies of AC-cooled greenhouses based on field experiments”


2nd Place: Ms. Tahani Bait Suwailam, Sultan Qaboos University for the research paper titled “Enhancement of Freshwater Production of the Seawater Greenhouse via a Direct Contact Dehumidifier”

Undergraduate Category


1st Place: Ms. Kawther Al Ismaili, Sultan Qaboos University for the research paper titled “Microwave Assisted Synthesis of CdS Sub-Microspheres for the Degradation of Chlorophenols Under Solar Light Irradiation”


2nd Place: Mr. Matar Al Maqbali, Sultan Qaboos University for the research paper titled “Development of In2O3 and Cd doped In2O3 Nano size photocatalyst for the degradation of Dyes present in Aqueous Solution”

Wastewater Research Prize


1st Place: Ms. Aziza Al Hinai & Halima Al Haimali, Sultan Qaboos University for the research paper titled “Investigating the performance of a novel quadruple microbial electrochemical cell for petrochemical wastewater treatment and energy recovery”


In addition to announcing the winners, the ceremony marked the launch of the fifth edition of the Omani Young Water Researchers Award and the third edition of the MEDRC Eco school prize.

The Eco School Prize ceremony was held jointly on the same day, where Al Maabila Al Shamalia school was announced as the overall winner of the prize. Sponsored by the Embassy of the Kingdom of the Netherlands and Oman LNG Development foundation, and supported by The Ministry of Education, Sultan Qaboos University’s College of Engineering and the Omani Film & theatre Society.

The prize which was designed to build greater water and energy awareness among school students in Oman saw five schools compete for the prize. Through a series of different activities, the students showcased the importance of water and energy and why conservation of both resources is vital for sustainable development.

To highlight the learning and understanding developed by the students throughout the competition, they worked on creating engaging short videos for social media distribution. Jazia Al Ismaili grade 10 student of Baraka bint Thalaba School, won the award for best video for her work on a thoughtful and educational animation with Rahma Al Hadidi from Baraka bint Thalaaba and Maryam Al Zidjali from Atika bint Zaid school coming second and third respectively.

The Young Omani water Researchers Award winners received a 400 OMR voucher while the winning prizes for the Eco school prize included trophies, certificates, an assortment of stationery and vouchers of up to 200 OMR that students can utilize to buy devices for online learning.