MEDRC Announce Finalists of ‘Omani Young Water Researchers Award, 2020

MEDRC Water Research have announced the names of Twelve young Omani researchers, shortlisted as finalists for the ‘Omani Young Water Researchers Award, 2020. The high-profile award celebrates the world class water research being conducted by young Omani students at undergraduate and postgraduate level in universities both in Oman and abroad.


The shortlisted students for the Omani Young Water Researchers Award 2020 are:


Postgraduate Category:

Basim Al-Farsi

Ibtihal Al-Manthri

Rasheeda Al-Abri

Tahani Bait Suwailm


Undergraduate Category:

Hawaa AL-Abri & Faiza Al-Hatmi

Kawther Al Ismaili

Matar Al Maqbali


Wastewater Research category:

Manal Al-Hashmi

Aziza Al Hinai & Halima Alhimali

Thuraya Al Fahdi


The Twelve young students secured their place on the shortlist after being called upon to present their project and defend their research findings to a judging panel consisting of the foremost water experts in Oman.

“None of this would be possible without the ongoing support of the Embassy of the Kingdom of the Netherlands, the Omar Zawawi Establishment L.L.C and Haya Water. Year after year their commitment to supporting Oman’s research talent  has been truly impressive,” said Ciarán Ó Cuinn, MEDRC Centrr Director.

First launched by MEDRC Water Research in 2017, the Award aims to recognize the valuable contributions of young Omani researchers whose work has, or has the potential to make a positive impact on the water sector in Oman.  The annual event is held under the Auspices of the Public Authority for Water and focuses on water research conducted in the following specified areas:

  • Water management
  • Wastewater treatment and reuse
  • Water Treatment Technologies
  • Desalination and/or related environment research
  • Non-revenue water

Generously sponsored by the Omar Zawawi Establishment L.L.C and the Embassy of the Kingdom of the Netherlands in Muscat, and Haya Water the winners will be presented with a winner’s medal, certificate of achievement, and a prize. The winners will be announced at an official ceremony which will be attended by dignitaries and officials from the public and private sector.